Changes for the Presidential Dollar

The presidential dollar coin series was first introduced in 2007. Each year, four different designs are issued to honor presidents of the United States in the order they served. The new series was created following the unsuccessful 2000 launch of the Sacagawea Dollar. Although the coins were produced in great numbers and promoted by the US Mint, the public never adopted the coins for every day use.

The Presidential Dollars have the same composition and golden color appearance. Some differences are the rotating obverse designs and the incused edge lettering. Mottoes, dates, and mint marks were all impressed onto the edges of the coins. This edge lettering caused many problems for the US Mint.

The first problem was that the motto “In God We Trust” which had become a mainstay on US coinage was moved to the edge of the coin. Many people did not notice the motto on the edge and instead assumed that the motto was being removed from US coinage. This caused much public outcry and even a call to boycott the new coins.

The second problem was the minting process. The edge lettering was impressed upon the coins in a separate process. This complication caused the appearance of error coins early in the series. Edge lettering could be missing, for coins that did not undergo the second stage of production. Edge lettering could also be doubled or shifted. The US Mint continues to work to eliminate the possibly for these kind of errors, but they still persist.

Starting in 2009, the edge lettering will be modified, it seems in particular response to the public contoversies. The motto “In God We Trust” will be moved to the obverse of the coin. The other motto “E Pluribus Unum” and the date and mint mark will continue to be placed on the edges of the coins.